Mudgee Wine Show 2018 results announced

Celebrating the very best of the Australian wine growers

Media release
Subscribe to
Robert Stein 2016 Riesling

Robert Stein 2016 Riesling [©Robert Stein Wines]

Jacob Stein, Robert Stein Vineyard, Mudgee
Huntington Estate in Mudgee
Mudgee Wine
David Lowe, Lowe Wines, Mudgee


The 47th Mudgee Wine Show results have been released at the annual wine show dinner.

Wine consultant and Judge Mike DeGaris chaired the Show with fellow judges Annette Lacey, Usher Tinkler, James Horsefall and Pai Merrick.

Mudgee is continuing to build its reputation as a region of diverse varieties. The judges commented on the class of dry white varieties that it was “an interesting class of adventurous blends” with the “better wines showing good fruit flavours.”

In the more traditional classes, the Shiraz wines were seen as a “strong class of differing styles. The top wines showed good expression of vibrancy, fruit and oak handling” while the Cabernet Sauvignon “were vibrant and showed good integration of oak, fruit and tannins."

Mudgee’s Riesling continues to gain attention, with the Riesling class a “bright class of young wines with good fruit expression. Top wines of differing styles.”


The 2018 Mudgee Wine Show Trophy winners are:

The Champion Wine Sponsored by Spiegelau

Robert Stein 2016 Riesling


Most Outstanding White Wine Sponsored by Plasdene Glass Pak

Robert Stein 2016 Riesling


Most Outstanding Red Wine Sponsored by Orora Stelvin

Robert Oatley Vineyards 2017 ‘Pocketwatch’ Shiraz


Wine Show Most Successful Exhibitor Sponsored by CCL Labels

Bunnamagoo Estate


Winemaker of the Year Sponsored by Seguin Moreau

Jacob Stein, Robert Stein Wines


Viticulturist of the Year Sponsored by Cudgegong Rural Supplies

Paul Winfeld, Huntington Estate


The Gil Wahlquist Perpetual Trophy for Best Organic/Biodynamic/Preservative Free Wine

Lowe Wines 2009 ‘Block 5’ Shiraz


The Dave Robertson Memorial Trophy for the Best Cabernet Sponsored by The Winning Post Inn

Bunnamagoo Estate 2016 Cabernet Sauvignon


The Robert Stein Memorial Trophy for the Best Shiraz

Robert Oatley Vineyards 2017 ‘Pocketwatch’ Shiraz


The Carlo Corino Trophy for the Best Red Wine not Shiraz or Cabernet Sponsored by Spiegelau

Bunnamagoo Estate 2016 Cabernet Sauvignon Merlotv


Best Semillon Sponsored by Petersons of Mudgee

Petersons 2012 Semillon


Best Chardonnay Sponsored by Robert Oatley Vineyards

Robert Stein 2017 ‘Reserve’ Chardonnay


Best White Wine Not Chardonnay or Semillon Sponsored by Multi-Colour Corporation

Robert Stein 2016 Riesling


Best Museum White Wine Perpetual Trophy Sponsored by Bunnamagoo Estate Wines

Robert Stein 2009 Riesling


Best Museum Red Wine Sponsored by Robert Oatley Vineyards

Lowe Wines 2009 ‘Block 5’ Shiraz


Most Outstanding Sweet Wine

Huntington Estate 2015 ‘Late Harvest’ Semillon


Most Outstanding Fortified Wine Sponsored by Ultra Labels

Westcourt Wines 2000 Muscat


Best Rosé Wine Sponsored by Hahn Corporation

1838 Wines 2018 ‘Classic French Style’ Rosé


Best Mudgee Classic Blend  Sponsored by Define Wine Marketing & Communications

Robert Stein 2017 ‘Kinnear’ Shiraz Cabernet


The full list of awards from the 2018 Mudgee Wine Show can be found here »



  • Mudgee (NSW)

Our Recommendations

To see our recommendations, ratings and reviews you must be a logged-in subscriber.

To subscribe please enter your email address in the "Subscribe Now - it's Free" box on the right and click the "Join" button, or fill in this form >

September 25th, 2018
Subscribe today - it's free
Subscribe Button

Subscribe now - for news and reviews, our newsletter (optional), to join our forums, and more.

Enter your email address and click the Subscribe button. We respect your privacy.

Log in

Enter your username...

Enter your password...

Log In Button

Forgotten your password?


Kerry's corner - your free benefits


Premium listing